Attorney General Balderas joins bipartisan coalition of attorneys general supporting nomination of Ken Salazar to be U.S. ambassador to Mexico

For Immediate Release:
July 15, 2021
Contact: Matt Baca — (505) 270-7148

Santa Fe, NM—Attorney General Balderas oday joined a bipartisan coalition of 30
attorneys general to urge the U.S. Senate to approve former Interior Secretary Ken
Salazar’s nomination as U.S. ambassador to Mexico. In the letter to Senate Foreign
Relations Committee Chairman Robert Menendez, D-N.J., and Ranking Member James
Risch, R-Idaho, the attorneys general say our country is at a significant juncture in U.S.-
Mexico relations, and that Salazar is a seasoned statesman well equipped to meet the
challenges of serving as the ambassador to Mexico.
“As a former state attorney general, Secretary Salazar knows just how important a strong
relationship is with our neighbors in Mexico, from strengthening law enforcement
partnerships and enforcing the rule of law, to ensuring our economic security,” said
Attorney General Balderas. “Secretary Salazar has demonstrated throughout his
decorated career that he is truly a public servant, and I encourage the Senate to confirm
his nomination.”
Salazar served previously in roles ranging from executive director of the Colorado
Department of Natural Resources to Colorado attorney general to U.S. senator to
secretary of the U.S. Department of the Interior, giving him a unique and deep knowledge
of the Western and Southwestern regions of the United States.
The attorneys general also explain in the letter that Salazar holds a deep and lasting
knowledge of our nations’ interdependence, an understanding of the importance of trade
between our markets, and a commitment to addressing border issues and immigration in
a humane and intelligent manner.
Attorney General Balderas joined the attorneys general of California, Colorado,
Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa,
Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Mexico, New York,
North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah,
Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
A copy of the letter of support is attached.